Mumtaz Oudh Malaysia

Discussion in 'General' started by Antani2, Oct 8, 2019.

1. Antani2

Antani2 Whats this Oud About?

Hi friends,
    a friend of mine is in Qatar and I asked him to buy for me some oud.
    One of the choices is this oud from Malaysia, do you have any experience with this kind of oud?
    the price is 12,4 QAR (3,40 USD) per gram.
    Is this a good deal?
    Is the quality of Malaysian oud good?

[​IMG]

2. Andrew Salkin

Andrew Salkin it's aboud time!

Not being able to see a cross section cut of some of those bigger pieces, I'd be a little hesitant. Also - my first wood buying experience was buying from a place that also sold cheap attars and oils and didn't have their wood very well kept. The wood I bought ended up smelling like the shop they came from and not the wood itself. IDK - I'm new to all this, but I wouldn't buy that wood from those photos.....It looks suspiciously dark and I feel like it's been sitting there for a LONG time.

3. Muhammed Afthab

Muhammed Afthab Whats this Oud About?

To.me it looks like a polished wood.
    3usd for tola seems too good to be true for a reseller.

Did you ask your friend to burn and see?.

4. Antani2

He said it didn't have lot of scent, so I bought this.
    He burnt it and said it was super. It is even cheaper

[​IMG]

I am very curious to burn those big pieces

5. Sproaty

Sproaty Sproudy Staff Member

hmm, I dunno. Looks like big solid pieces, would expect smaller pieces chip size. Also, "made in Indonesia" - but may be a language thing.

AbuTominaga likes this.
  6. Mr.P

Mr.P Evoloudtionary Bioudlogist

Doesn’t really look much like oud, does it? It looks kind of engineered - like it was tumbled in a machine or something? Maybe this is like the black magic wood - plain wood treated with fragrance.

Last edited: Oct 8, 2019
    AbuTominaga likes this.
  7. Andrew Salkin

Seen wood like this once before at Misk Shoppe in Dayton, NJ.... It was weird.

Kabir Attars likes this.
  8. Antani2